Skip to content ↓


The Governing Body comprises:-

  • one L.A. Governor - nominated by the Local Authority
  • three Parent Governors - elected by the parent body
  • eight Co-opted Governors – members of the local community, nominated from Community organisations or by other governors
  • one Staff Governor - elected by the staff
  • Headteacher (who can choose to be a governor or not)

The Governors generally hold office for a period of four years, however Co-opted Governors under the current constitution hold office for three years.
They meet as a full governing body twice a term. There are two main committees: Resources (which covers Finance, Personnel, Premises) and Curriculum, Learning and Achievement (CLA).
These committees have delegated responsibilities, giving advice to the full governing body, and are required to report back on all of their actions.

All governors are accessible should you wish to consult them and can be contacted via the School Office.

Swavesey Primary School Governing Body 2022-2023

Name of Governor Category
(Nominated by)
Date of appointment & Term of Office Committee Membership Link Subjects and Responsibilities Business & Pecuniary Interests (inc governance roles at other schools)

Hannah Parish

Chair of Governors

(Parish Council)
April 2021 - March 2024 Resources 

History & Geography


Health & Safety, Premises

Lynsey Fulcher
Vice chair of Governors
July 2022 - July 2025 Resources

Staff Wellbeing & Engagement,
Remuneration Committee, Headteacher's Performance Management

Cambridgeshire County Council/LGSS - Human Resources Business Partner
Robin Adams Co-opted (FGB) July 2022 - July 2025 CLA



Steve Byfield Parent (Parent Election) February 2021 - February 2025 Resources

Music, Computing


Child Protection & Safeguarding Committee

Catherine Cannon Co-Opted (FGB) October 2020 - October 2023 Resources (Resources Chair, FGB VIce Chair)

Art, Maths


Head Teacher Performance Management, Renumeration Committee

Tina Carminati Co-opted
October 2019 - October 2025 Resources Design & Technology, PE
Claire Daniel Co-opted
September 2021 - August 2024 CLA

Modern Languages

Pupil Premium


Child Protection & Safeguarding Committee

Rachel Hallam Parent (Parent Election) October 2019 - October 2023


(CLA Chair)




Head Teacher Performance Management Committee,

Remuneration Committee

Cambridgeshire County Council (Research Team Manager)
Youping Han LA (Local Authority) July 2022 - July 2026 CLA Lead Mentor None
Nicola Griffiths Parent (Parent Election) March 2023 - March 2027 CLA



Anna Norden Head Teacher Continuous CLA
Rachel Sprawson  Teacher
(Elected Staff Member)
January 2022 - October 2023 CLA   None


Associate Members

Lucy Poskitt Deputy Head April 2014 - Duration of post FGB None Staff Member
Wendy Whistler Business Manager Sept 2017 - Duration of post Resources Selective Group - local supplier Staff Member
Andrew Baker   July 2022 onwards FGB Private Tuition - Kip McGrath  
Dr Alison Fox   June 2022 onwards FGB    

Resignations during the year

Lucy Parson Parent Governor 
November 2019 - March 2023 Res Science None